Sipping Tea

355bb99f46e8a10c94efc6454fd60ff9

Sipping Tea

Sipping tea,
A fluid awareness
Moves through me.

Soothing warmth invades
And I contemplate.

Taking in,
Reflecting on,
My place,
The meaning of me.

Observing,
The shape of my fingers,
The solar system
Of freckles
Running down
My chest,
Along the curve of my breast.

I touch my belly swell
Once occupied by souls,
Now an empty shell.
A sacred space.
Nurtured by these hands,
Aged, yet supple.

I raise the cup
To my lips,
Acutely aware of thoughts
Coming and going
With each sip.

Sipping tea
Brings me into
The present moment,
Where I can just
Be.

6 thoughts on “Sipping Tea

  1. Excellent crafting of words. Like a fine Peets cup of tea! Keep adding to The Consciousness of this plane of existence!

  2. “The Solar System of freckles” is such a brilliant line, the whole poem is beautifully crafted and soulfully insightful but….. “The Solar System of freckles”, is dare I say, “out of this world”… whooops cliche… sorry I’ll go the naughty corner…
    Thanks for this glorious poem.

Leave a Reply

