The Love I Once Knew

8917f25b9722598ad9712f8c5cdec4a1

The Love I Once Knew

The love I once knew,
The one I held with unaffected ease.
Wrapping my soul in so tightly,
No force could undo.

The love I once knew,
The one whose songs I drifted off by.
Counting dreams, the sweetness
Of lullaby’s dew.

The love I once knew
The one that breathed new life in me.
A priceless sustenance, a rare
Gift given to few.

Given to me freely.

The love I once knew,
The one measured only by its own infinitude.
An encircling arm of safety, a limitless
Circle of light imbue.

The love I once knew,
The one rejected, deserted for fool’s gold.
Trust, now an empty shell, in the
Blink of an eye withdrew.

Thrown away freely.

The love I now know,
The one metamorphosed from virtue.
A struggle for survival, many
Walls to break through.

I long for the love
I once knew.

 

7 thoughts on “The Love I Once Knew

Leave a Reply

