Nostalgia

Gustave Klint
Gustave Klint

Nostalgia

A familiar song plays

Yearning rushes in, like a blast of hot air,

Breath catches, and I’m caught again

Oh that exquisite pain! How you disturb me!

It confounds me really

That old sentiment, old but always fresh somehow

Emotion rising up from deep,

unfathomable regions,

recondite places meant for storing pain

That kind that makes me all nostalgic like, that kind

that creates havoc all up and down my body

God, such sweet poignant suffering!

Bitter-sweet memories, I think of that almost lover, lost friend 

It’s a beautiful tragedy

that thing called nostalgia

This tear-jerker tune gets me every time like that

 

 

2 thoughts on “Nostalgia

Leave a Reply

