Angels and Demons

Karol Bak, NOKTURNY, 2010
Karol Bak, NOKTURNY, 2010

Angels and Demons

Lovely oblivion 

How I cherished you!

I was the beautiful pretender, 

captivating imposter, fooling all,

even myself after awhile. 

But angels and demons 

never stay buried for long,

they just inhabit, until

something, or someone

comes along 

and tears you open,

ripping away layers

of phoniness, exposing

the fallacious actor,

who’d learned to play

her part so well.

 

You came along,

when demons were raging

and angels only wept.

I thought I could fool you too

like all the rest,

but you could see the pain in me

and you could see the love.

You stripped me bare,

dispossessed me 

of all my clinging, 

splitting me wide open, raw.

I’d never seen ‘real’ before, you

and now you have me

begging, pleading

Show me more, 

’cause fighting all the demons

will take time.

 

 

Leave a Reply

